## Independence day celebration 15<sup>th</sup> Aug 2020

The institute celebrated Independence Day on 15<sup>th</sup> Aug 2020. Various cultural programs such as patriotic songs and dances were performed. It aimed to represent unity in diversity of our country, by having songs in various languages. There was a short play by the staff to highlight the sacrifices of our great freedom fighters in their struggle to attain freedom. The Principal and the Medical Director addressed the gathering and distributed gifts to the participants.





# University College of Medical Sciences & GTB Hospital Delhi-95 72<sup>th</sup> Republic Day Celebration

## Golden Jubilee Celebration year - UCMS.

### Report

On 26/01/2021, The72<sup>th</sup> Republic day was celebrated in UCMS and GTBH campus. It was an honour to have our hon'ble Vice Chancellor, Dr PC Joshi, as the chief guest of Republic Day function.

We witnessed the joint synergistic efforts of the Principal of UCMS, Dr AK Jain and the Medical Director GTBH, Dr Rautela and their team work on stage on this day and also off stage, always has benefited the UCMS-GTBH Complex.

The day was celebrated with pomp and show, zeal and spirit throughout the length and breadth of the campus. The college building was decorated with tricolors and flowers and national flag. The programme began at 8.30 am. The chief guest Dr PC Joshi, Vice Chancellor, Dr AK Jain UCMS Principal and Dr Rautela GTBH Medical Director unfurled the national flag amidst loud cheers. The programme was begun with the singing of National anthem song. Dr Amir Maroof Khan was the master of the ceremony.

The Vice Chancellor, Dr PC Joshi, Principal of UCMS, Dr AK Jain and Medical Director of GTBH, Dr Rautela addressed the occasion with inspiring words. In their speech they highlighted the COVID-19 disease and ongoing Covid vaccine programme and also gave valuable words regarding importance of Mask and social distancing. They also gave an insight on the various accomplishments achieved by college and motivated the crowd for bringing more laurels for the college through their accomplishments.

The cultural programmes were held and wonderful performances were given by the faculty, students, residents, and the non teaching staff of UCMS. The list of programs is as follows:

- 1. Solo singing- Dr Ashmita, ENT PG: Lyrics: I love my India (Pardes).
- 2. Solo singing Ms Charu: Lyrics: Ae mere wattan ke logo.
- 3. New Faculty group singing Dr Kirti, Dr Charu, Dr Rakhee, Dr Pareenita, Dr Manoj & Dr Vidushi :Lyrics: Teri Mitti me Mil javen :TRIBUTE.
- 4. Group play: Balidaan- Deepak kumar, Mahipaal, Sohanpal, J.pareshar.
- 5. Poetry Reading: "BHARAT MAA"- Dr Vidushi, Micro PG.
- 6. Solo singing- Mr. Pareshar: Accountant: Lyrics: Ye desh hai veer jawano ka.

The winners of the Hindi Pakhwada contest and those of My Covid Story were felicitated. The list of the winners is given below:

Prize distribution to the winners of Article writing on account of "Hindi Pakhwada-2019".

#### **Students:**

- 1. Madalsa Kanwar Charan (Batch 2016)-1<sup>st</sup> prize
- 2. Mukul Aggarwal (Batch 2018)- 2<sup>nd</sup> prize
- 3. Tanishq Saini (Batch 2018)-3<sup>rd</sup> prize

#### Staff:

- 1. Mr. Rahul Pandey- 1st prize
- 2. Mr. Alekh Lalatendu- 2<sup>nd</sup> prize
- 3. Mr. Deepak Kumar-3<sup>rd</sup> prize

Prize distribution to the winners of "My covid story" contest:

#### Poem:

- 1. Lavanya Lyer, Radiology UCMS/GTBH
- 2. Susie Watson Peds UCMS/GTBH
- 3. Astha Rai, MBBS Student

#### Story:

1. Vashi Gupta ENT UCMS/GTBH

- 2. Abhinav Agarwal, Med UCMS/GTBH
- 3. Pappu Shah, MBBS intern

Many faculty member, residents, interns, and non teaching staff attended the function.

The program ended with the message to create a great nation through collective efforts from all individual. Tea and snacks were distributed among all the guests.

## Coordinating Team: ....

- 1. Prof. Neelam Vaney: Head Department of Physiology.
- 2. Prof. Archana Singal: Department of Dermatology & STD
- 3. Prof. Amir Khan Maroof: Department of Community Medicine.
- 4. Dr. Rajesh Arora, Assistant Professor, Department of Orthopedics.
- 5. Dr. Rakhee Sharma, Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy
- 6. Dr. Charu Jain, Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology
- 7. Dr. Kirti Nirmal, Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology
- 8. Dr. Pareenita Sahay, Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
- 9. Mr. Sumeet Arora, Asisstant Registrar
- 10. The President, RDA
- 11. Mr. Dayal Singh, President, KU

The Section Officer, General Section to assist the Committee.

### Some glimpses:











